Education Minister of India

Education Minister of India


Discover the role and responsibilities of the Education Minister of India. Stay updated on the latest initiatives, policies, and reforms shaping the country’s education system. Learn how the Education Minister is working towards empowering future generations and fostering a brighter educational landscape

  1. The Department of School Education and Literacy- This department deals with primary, secondary, and higher secondary education, as well as adult education and literacy in India.
  2. The Department of Higher Education- This department deals with secondary, post-secondary, and university-level education, technical education, scholarships, and so on. The department is empowered to grant deemed university status to educational institutions on the advice given by the University Grants Commission (UGC) of India, under Section 3 of the University Grants Commission (UGC) Act.

List of Education Minister of India From 1947 to 2022

S.No.Education Ministers of IndiaTerm of officeParty
1.Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad 15 Aug 1947 – 22 Jan 1958INC
2.Dr. K. L. Shrimali 22 Jan 1958 – 31 Aug 1963INC
3.Shri Humayun Kabir1 September 1963- 21 Nov 1963INC
4.Shri. M. C. Chagla21 Nov 1963- 13 Nov 1966INC
5.Shri. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 14 Nov 1966-  13 March 1967INC
6.Dr. Triguna Sen 16 March 1967- 14 Feb 1969INC
7.Dr. V. K. R. V. Rao 14 Feb 1969 – 18 March 1971INC
8.Shri. Siddhartha Shankar Ray18 March 1971 – 20 March 1972INC
9.Prof. S. Nurul Hasan 24 March 1972- 24 March 1977INC
10.Prof. Pratap Chandra Chunder 26 March 1977 – 28 July 1979Janta party
11.Dr. Karan Singh29 July 1979 -January 1980INC (Urs)
12.Shri. B. Shankar Anand 14 January 1980- 18 October 1980INC
13.Shri. S.B. Chavan17 October 1980- 8 August 1981 INC
14.Smt. Sheila Kaul 10 August 1981- 31 December 1984INC
15.Shri. K. C. Pant31 December 1984- 25 September 1985INC
16.Shri. P.V. Narasimha Rao25 September 1985- 25 June 1988INC
17.Shri. P. Shiv Shankar 25 June 1988- 2 December 1989INC
18.Shri. V.P. Singh 2 December 1989- 10 November 1990Jan Morcha
19.Shri. Raj Mangal Pandey 21 November 1990- 21 June 1991Samajwadi Janata Party
20.Shri. Arjun Singh 23 June 1991- 24 December 1994INC
21.P.V Narasimha Rao (REPEATED TWICE)25 December 1994- 9 February 1995INC
22.Shri. Madhav Rao Scindia10 February 1995- 17 January 1996INC
23.P.V Narasimha Rao (REPEATED THRICE)17 January 1996- 16 May 1996INC
24.Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee16 May 1996- 1 June 1996BJP
25.Shri. S.R. Bommai5 June 1996- 19 March 1998Janta Dal
26.Dr. Murali Manohar Joshi19 March 1998- 22 May 2009BJP
27. Arjun Singh (REPEATED TWICE)22 May 2004 – 22 May 2009INC
28.Shri Kapil Sibal29 May 2009- 29 October 2012INC
29.Shri. M. M. Pallam Raju30 October 2012- 26 May 2014INC
30.Smt. Smriti Irani26 May 2014 – 5 July 2016BJP
31.Shri. Prakash Javdekar5 July 2016 – 30 May 2019BJP
32.Ramesh Pokhriyal30 May 2019- 7 July 2021BJP
33.Dharmendra Pradhan7 July 2021 – Present BJP

Contact List of Education Department – Click Here

President of India List with Photo from 1950 to 2022 Free PDF

Leave a Comment

error: Content is protected !!